ARCE National & International

The American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE) is a private, nonprofit organization founded in 1948 by a consortium of educational and cultural institutions to support research on all aspects of Egyptian history and culture, foster broader knowledge among the general public, and strengthen American-Egyptian cultural ties. ARCE was formally established in Boston on May 14, 1948, and now has research centers in Cairo and Luxor, Egypt, and affiliated chapters all over the United States.

ARCE facilitates research by individuals and American institutions in Egypt.  It provides a permanent base of operations in Cairo for scholars studying Egypt from prehistory to the present day. More than a dozen archaeological teams sponsored by leading U.S. and Canadian museums and universities are assisted annually by the Cairo Center.

For more information about ARCE National’s history and mission, see: http://arce.org/main/about/historyandmission


ARCE Arizona Chapter (ARCE-AZ)

The American Research Center in Egypt, Arizona Chapter is an independent non-profit corporation that receives financial and logistical support from the ARCE national organization. ARCE members can elect to affiliate with the Arizona Chapter, supporting our local efforts.

Our membership is composed of scholars, students, enthusiasts and a broad mix of people. Our common bond is exploring an interest in all periods and cultures of ancient Egypt. Lectures are free to everyone, members and non-members alike. So, there is no excuse not to join us!

The chapter is sustained by its registered membership in ARCE, which is inexpensive and encouraged.


Brief History

ARCE-AZ is based in Tucson. It was founded early in 1989 by Dr. Richard H. Wilkinson and Penny Clifford Mazer, at the invitation of Dr. Terry Walz from the ARCE National office. Since 1989, the chapter has sponsored approximately 100 lectures and activities across the state. In addition, the Arizona Chapter hosted the 2004 & 2018 ARCE annual meetings in Tucson.


Past Presidents

1989 – 2000: Prof. Richard H. Wilkinson
2000 – 2006: Prof. Suzanne Onstine
2006 – 2008: Jennifer Harshman
2008 – 2012: Dr. Gonzalo Sanchez

2012 – 2015: Prof. Pearce Paul Creasman
2015 – 2017: Dr. Mary Ownby

2017 – 2018: Hannah Herrick
2018 - 2020: Prof. Pearce Paul Creasman


Current Officers and Board

President: Pearce Paul Creasman
Vice President: Tracy Dusablon
Treasurer: Leah Humphrey
Board: Nancy Surdovol, Keenan Montoya, Rhiannon Shelnutt